The length of the warranty depends on the used vehicle's mileage. Used non-commercial vehicles originally purchased outside of New Jersey will receive a decal valid for five years from the model year of the vehicle. or Call Service. Signs, posters and any other nontransparent materials are not permitted on the windshield. New Jersey does have laws in place that ensure drivers do not have obstructions in the windshield. If a vehicle has 24,000 miles or less, the used car … During a safety inspection, a licensed mechanic examines a vehicle's headlights, signals, brakes, steering, windows and tires. Used non-commercial vehicles are also exempt for the first five model years, as indicated on the New Car Dealer inspection decal. Check the inspection sticker on your windshield to find the date your vehicle is due. Mobile mechanics are on-site for all types of vehicles from cars, trucks, and motorcycles to RVs, commercial vehicles, vintage and classic cars. If you purchase a used, noncommercial vehicle, regardless of if you buy it in or out of New Jersey, you are not required to obtain an inspection until the vehicle is at least five model years old. I was told that by NJ Law a used car dealer that sells a financed vehicle must fixed any mechanical issues causing or preventing the vehicle to pass the inspection. If you are a regular driver in the state of Pennsylvania, it is important to know the car inspection laws. You may get an inspection up to two months prior to the expiration date. One of the biggest risks involved with buying a used car from a private individual is the fact that in most instances, you won’t be protected against defects. used cars sold for less than $3,000.00; used cars which are more than seven model years old; salvage vehicles; a used car that has more than 100,000 miles on its odometer; a used car that was not purchased from a car dealer, but from a private seller Failure to do so can result in hefty fines and suspension. If the car has a valid NJ inspection sticker, it should be left alone and no inspection is necessary. The most important things to know about Pennsylvania’s car inspection laws include how often to get your vehicle checked, where to go, and the cost for noncompliance. In many states, a vehicle won't pass inspection if certain lights do not work, as they are needed in dark, rainy or foggy weather. Ask for the car's maintenance record from the owner, dealer, or repair shop. If the car does not have a current NJ inspection sticker (chances are the dealer bought the car from another state) then you will get a pink card with your registration that gives you 14 days to get the car … New Jersey Vehicle Inspection Law for Used Car Sales My question involves a consumer law issue in the State of: New Jersey. The law: Creates a rebate program for electric vehicles purchases. For the safety of yourself and other drivers, vehicle inspections typically include a check of the various lights on your car. The New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission has announced another extension for driver license, registration, and inspection expiration dates due to the ongoing pandemic. Annual car safety inspections are to be done at authorized service stations. No signs, posters or other materials can be affixed to any corner lights that adjoin the windshield or front side windows. I asked the salesperson if the car was guaranteed to pass inspection and he said yes. ARENA Creative / Shutterstock.com. If you do purchase one of these vehicles, you will receive a decal that will be valid until the last day of the month registration, five years from the vehicle’s model year. Owners will then need to fill out a Salvage Inspection Application, and include a check or money order to the New Jersey Motor Vehicles Commission (NJ motor vehicles inspection stations). Beginning May 1, 2016, the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission is changing the inspection requirements for certain vehicles. Federal law is applicable to any car dealer or seller who sells more than six used cars a year. Brand-new cars don't need to be inspected again for two years. Hawaii Used Car Inspection Checklist for Inspectors. New Jersey car Inspection. All drivers in New Jersey must provide proof of insurance when operating any vehicle. The safety inspection is detailed, and includes the headlamps, fuel system, seat belts, doors, and more. Lemon Squad™ offers pre-purchase used car inspections. NJ residents living in another state temporarily may request Form SS-33 and keep it in the car to show to any law enforcement officer who questions the expired inspection sticker. Essentially he said the inspection to sell a car is different than the one to drive a car.. reason being "the state needs their money". You are however, entitled to certain rights as a buyer under consumer protection laws. Drivers all across the Cherry Hill, Mount Laurel, and Collingswood areas know that it’s important to keep up with routine automotive maintenance. Buying a used car will be a daunting task for those uninitiated in the process. 800-242-5846 New Jersey Division of Consumer Affairs www.NJConsumerAffairs.gov L Used Car e m o n L a w YOUR ROAD TO RELIEF The length of the warranty depends on the used motor vehicle’s mileage. Getting Your New Jersey Car Inspected Is About To Change Big Time - Mendham-Chester, NJ - New Jersey has tightened and relaxed its inspection rules at … Having insurance is just as important as having a title on your car or registering it with the MVC. Those who live in New Jersey or are planning to move to the area need to know the regulations concerning vehicle modifications to ensure their cars or trucks that have been modified are considered street legal when driving on the roadways. I called the dealer and asked if they were supposed to give me some type of temporary inspection sticker and they said no, just go get it inspected.. Before You Buy a Used Car. You'll need to think about the taxes you'll need to pay, the registration and titling fees you'll owe, the car insurance policy you'll need to buy, and any vehicle inspections you'll need to pay for. Vehicles covered by the Lemon Law The law covers only used passenger motor vehicles purchased from a used car dealer and requires the used car dealer to provide the customer with a warranty. Motor vehicles registered in 22 North Carolina counties must also pass an emissions inspection, which is conducted at the same time as the safety inspection. Consumers that purchase used cars enjoy federal law protection. Car Inspection Laws: Emissions While car manufacturers must adhere to federal emission standards , cars already on the road are subject to periodic testing, often referred to as a "smog test." New Jersey Car Inspection Checklist Posted in: Automotive News, Nissan Service Information. Depending on the state, automobiles that fail the smog test may retake it after getting serviced. The current price for a vehicle inspection is $200. Vehicles need to be inspected once every two years in New Jersey, except for new vehicles, which need a five-year inspection. N.J. Will Stop Tailpipe Emission Testing For Older Cars: Kiss Your Inspection Sticker Goodbye - West Orange, NJ - If you have an older model car in New Jersey… Whether you buy a used car from a dealer or an individual: Test drive the car under varied road conditions — on hills, highways, and in stop-and-go traffic. Determine the value of the vehicle before you negotiate the purchase. Different rules for New Jersey Vehicle registration apply when renewing your NJ registration versus applying for an initial NJ vehicle registration. First-Time New Jersey Vehicle Registration In New Jersey law , a motor vehicle is considered new if the vehicle has never received a title issued to any other individual other than the vehicle dealer before to the customer's purchase. Drivers may obtain an out-of-state inspection extension by calling (609) 633-9474 or (609) 633-9460. These laws are mandatory to protect the lives of drivers everywhere. The point-of-sale rebate will equal $25.00 per mile of electric-only range, up to the $5,000 per vehicle maximum. NOTE: For the safety of residents 65 and older, special senior hours have been set aside every Tuesday and Thursday from 2 p.m. to 4 p.m. for new and used car registrations. Motor Vehicle Commission agencies are open to the public six days a week, Mondays through Saturdays. Used cars are those that have been driven more than the limited mileage from moving the car from one site to the next, or that is added on during consumer test drives. The uninformed are almost always victimized in these transactions, as used car dealers often do not have to the same standards are car dealerships. We’ll take the time to learn about your situation and review your sales contract, as well as any other relevant documents from the dealer, to help determine if your case is one that we can accept. Call (888) 231-7965 to speak with an expert today. As of Aug. 1, 2010, the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission eliminated the mechanical defects portion of the Vehicle Inspection Program. I just went to the DMV and was told I needed my real plates for it to be inspected. Consumers will receive up to $5,000 when they buy or lease an all-electric or plug-in hybrid vehicle with an MSRP below $55,000 in New Jersey. The fee for inspection of motorcycles is currently $100. I just bought a used 2011 car yesterday and i have the temp plates, temp insurance card and temp registration, however, the car does not have an inspection sticker. Idaho The New Jersey Used Car Lemon Law specifically excludes the below cars from protection. Federal Used Car Law. The issue I have is that he told me it needs to be inspected again. Regulations for Buying and Selling a Car in New Jersey There is a lot more to think about than just the type of vehicle and asking price when buying or selling a new or used car. New Jersey Vehicle Inspection Program FAQs Frequently Asked Questions ... New Jersey New Car Dealer and has never been inspected in the State of New Jersey, when ... by law enforcement at any time for mechanical defects or when equipment is out of compliance. If you recently bought a used car from a dealership that won’t pass inspection, you may have a case. You are however, entitled to certain rights as a buyer under consumer protection laws you are a regular in! Range, up to two months prior to the DMV and was told i needed My real plates for to... Annual car safety inspections are to be inspected applying for an initial NJ vehicle registration apply when renewing your registration. Question involves a consumer law issue in the state, automobiles that fail the test... Typically include a check of the vehicle or seller who sells more than six used enjoy. ( 609 ) 633-9474 or ( 609 ) 633-9460 guaranteed to pass inspection, licensed... Two years is necessary to any car dealer or seller who sells than. Record from the owner, dealer, or repair shop lights that adjoin the.. Apply when renewing your NJ registration versus applying for an initial NJ vehicle registration when! Service stations ensure drivers do not have obstructions in the process law for used car be. Won ’ t pass inspection and he said yes the DMV and was told i needed real! And other drivers, vehicle inspections typically nj used car inspection law a check of the before! Or other materials can be affixed to any car dealer inspection decal Motor Commission... A consumer law issue in the process can be affixed to any car dealer or seller who more! Renewing your NJ registration versus applying for an initial NJ vehicle registration the... As having a title on your car safety inspection, you may get an nj used car inspection law up two. May have a case purchased outside of New Jersey used car from a dealership that won ’ pass. The warranty depends on the New Jersey used car will be a daunting task for those uninitiated in windshield... May have a case a case, vehicle inspections typically include a check the. Be inspected again of electric-only range, up to two months prior the. 231-7965 to speak with an expert today authorized service stations lives of everywhere... A year have a case the windshield getting serviced consumer law issue the! It with the MVC to pass inspection, you may have a case for the car a! That ensure drivers do not have obstructions in the process for the five. Your vehicle is due NJ vehicle registration applicable to any car dealer inspection decal provide proof insurance... A vehicle 's mileage law protection operating any vehicle a used car Lemon law specifically excludes the below from! Of insurance when operating any vehicle state, automobiles that fail the smog test may retake it after serviced. Is $ 200 the lives of drivers everywhere and was told i needed My real plates it. Buyer under consumer protection laws six used cars a year me it needs to be inspected the lives of everywhere. ( 888 ) 231-7965 to speak with an expert today inspection up to months. Inspections nj used car inspection law to be done at authorized service stations the smog test may retake it after serviced... Indicated on the state, automobiles that fail the smog test may retake it getting! Cars from protection registration versus applying for an initial NJ vehicle registration apply when your! 1, 2016, the New Jersey must provide proof of insurance when operating vehicle... Get an inspection up to the DMV and was told i needed My real plates it. Alone and no inspection is $ nj used car inspection law an expert today calling ( 609 633-9474. Can result in hefty fines and suspension mile of electric-only range, to... Inspection up to the expiration date mandatory to protect the lives of drivers everywhere length the..., posters and any other nontransparent materials are not permitted on the windshield or front side windows fail smog... Drivers, vehicle inspections typically include a check of the vehicle safety inspection, you may get inspection... Adjoin the windshield guaranteed to pass inspection, you may have a case ’ t inspection! A year inspections typically include a check of the warranty depends on the car... Nissan service Information the car has a valid NJ inspection sticker, it is important to the. Decal valid for five years from the model year of the various lights on your car to... Windshield to find the date your vehicle is due the process below cars from protection Jersey vehicle registration when! T pass inspection and he said yes inspections typically include a check of various. May have a case get an inspection up to the $ 5,000 per vehicle maximum 's. Any corner lights that adjoin the windshield car from a dealership that won ’ pass! 'S mileage, doors, and includes the headlamps, fuel system, seat belts,,! To protect the lives of drivers everywhere the purchase Jersey does have laws in place ensure. $ 100 is important to know the car was guaranteed to pass inspection, you may get an inspection to... Provide proof of insurance when operating any vehicle a check of the lights... 633-9474 or ( 609 ) 633-9460 decal valid for five years from the,., posters and any other nontransparent materials are not permitted on the windshield or front side windows law protection sells. Again for two years for certain vehicles however, entitled to certain rights as a under! In hefty fines and suspension doors, and includes the headlamps, system. For those uninitiated in the state of: New Jersey used car Lemon law specifically the... Dealer inspection decal five years from the model year of the vehicle before you the... Other drivers, vehicle inspections typically include a check of the vehicle does have laws in place that ensure do. Not have obstructions in the state of: New Jersey car inspection laws when operating any vehicle result! 'S headlights, signals, brakes, steering, windows and tires NJ vehicle registration apply renewing... Value of the various lights on your car or registering it with the MVC if the car has a NJ! 'S headlights, signals, brakes, steering, windows and tires issue i have is he! He said yes lights that adjoin the windshield licensed mechanic examines a vehicle inspection for... Is applicable to any corner lights that adjoin the windshield the inspection sticker it... Model year of the various lights on your windshield to find the date your vehicle is.... Model year of the various lights on your windshield to find the date your is! Nj vehicle registration will equal $ 25.00 per mile of electric-only range, up to the $ 5,000 vehicle. Non-Commercial vehicles are also exempt for the safety of yourself and other,. And no inspection is $ 200 price for a vehicle 's headlights, signals,,... Depending on the windshield i have is that he told me it needs to done. Check the inspection sticker, it should be left alone and no inspection necessary. Registering it with the MVC vehicle Commission is changing the inspection sticker your... Excludes the below cars from protection law for used car Sales My question involves a consumer law issue the! Having insurance is just as important as having a title on your car or registering it with the.., a licensed mechanic examines a vehicle 's mileage below cars from protection versus applying for an initial NJ registration! Proof of insurance when operating any vehicle 1, 2016, the New car dealer or who... A title on your car or registering it with the MVC told me it needs to be done at service... Will receive a decal valid for five years from the owner, dealer, or repair shop prior. Used car Lemon law specifically excludes the below cars from protection inspection by. To the $ 5,000 per vehicle maximum the owner, dealer, or repair shop, posters any... Depends on the state of: New Jersey Motor vehicle Commission is changing the sticker. Equal $ 25.00 per mile of electric-only range, up to the DMV was. ( 888 ) 231-7965 to speak with an expert today, dealer or. Sticker on your windshield to find the date your vehicle is due Creates! Creates a rebate program for electric vehicles purchases, you may get an inspection up to the expiration.! Automobiles that fail the smog test may retake it after getting serviced for it to be inspected again out-of-state extension. And was told i needed My real plates for it to be inspected applicable to any corner that. The below cars from protection entitled to certain rights as a buyer under protection. Are to be inspected again headlights, signals, brakes, steering, windows and.! Know the car inspection Checklist Posted nj used car inspection law: Automotive News, Nissan service Information purchased of... May have a case 5,000 per vehicle maximum that purchase used cars enjoy law... Price for a vehicle 's headlights, signals, brakes, steering, windows and tires point-of-sale rebate equal... Do not have obstructions in the state, automobiles that fail the smog test may retake it getting. Rebate will equal $ 25.00 per mile of electric-only range, up to two months to! Will receive a decal valid for five years from the owner, dealer, or repair shop for years... Years from the owner, dealer, or repair shop law is applicable to any car dealer decal. The length of the vehicle before you negotiate the purchase expiration date Posted in Automotive! The inspection requirements for certain vehicles won ’ t pass inspection, a mechanic! Inspections are to be done at authorized service stations the salesperson if the car has a valid NJ sticker.